FRQ–IVADO Research Chair Data Science
for Combinatorial Game Theory

I currently hold a FRQ–IVADO Research Chair in Data Science for Combinatorial Game Theory (Chair-DSCG). This is one of the three FRQ-IVADO Chairs to promote Equity, Diversity and Inclusion in digital intelligence.

We focus in fundamental research in Operations Research and its application in health, education, economic management and sustainability. See here a video presenting our team. The team also likes to participate in computational competitions: AI for TSP competition and MIP 2022 Computational Competition.

The Chair-DSCG is committed to promote equity, diversity and inclusion within the research team and research directions. Applications to be part of the team from women, visible minorities, Aboriginal people, people with any sexual orientation or gender identity, people with disabilities and people from economically disadvantaged backgrounds are welcome. Currently, I am looking for students with a strong mathematical/computer science background interested in mixed-integer bilevel programming and game theory. When you contact me to apply, please send a copy of your transcripts, CV and motivation letter.

Chair Code


  • Postdoctoral fellows

  • Nagisa Sugishita(since September 2023)
  • İsmail Sevim(since January 2023)
  • Research Consultant

  • Shabnam Mahmoudzadeh Vaziri(since May 2024)
  • Doctoral Students

  • Steven Lamontagne (since June 2022)
  • Maria Bazotte (since May 2022)
  • William St-Arnaud (since September 2021); received a Scholarship of Excellence of CIRRELT
  • Warley Almeida (since September 2020); received a Scholarship of Excellence of CIRRELT and FRQNT doctoral scholarship
  • PhD visitors

  • Bárbara Rodrigues (since June 2024)
  • Alexandre Jesus (since May 2024)
  • Fabio Mercurio (since April 2024)
  • Masters Students

  • The Minh Nguyen (since November 2023); received a Scholarship of Excellence of CIRRELT
  • Julien Hébert-Doutreloux (since January 2023)
  • Undergrad Students

  • Mathieu Morin (since May 2024)
  • Marylou Fauchard (since May 2023); received an NSERC Undergraduate Student Research Award